How do people find the time to write?

I loved it last year: travelling, exploring, having fun and then finding time to write it all down and record it for posterity – and for my own pleasure.  But since my feet touched back down onto UK soil, I haven’t posted a thing.

I’ve even drafted the next edition of our travel blog, but I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to upload it.   The constraints that work places on your time are inconceivable really.  Although I’m not entirely sure it’s just time – it’s the brain space, the capacity for creativity.   I expend so much of my mental energy these days doing what I am told that I have little space left for doing what I’d like.

And I’m not really very happy about that if I’m honest with you!

So, here I am, spending just five minutes, jotting down a quick post whilst sitting on the top floor of my school, gazing out of the maths class room window at the gently rolling hills of East Birmingham.  To my left, there are four students working fervently on tasks I’ve set them to boost their chances of an exam grade, but all I’m really wondering is when I’m going to be able to bring writing back into my life in a routine way.

The mists, and the sunrise, and the views across the rooftop, even the low moan of planes overhead, the magpies fluttering through the sky, the warmth of the sun that comes and goes gradually as if someone has it on a dimmer switch… These are all things I would have noticed in the past and found a space to appreciate them and share.

It can’t all be doom and gloom though, because I found these five minutes.  That means I might, just might, find five more.

image
The sky was so spectacular on the way home, I just had to pull over. Just one more reminder to keep seeing the extraordinary things in our ordinary lives.

4 thoughts on “How do they do it?

  1. I’ve found the same thing since getting back from Oz, although I have been actively trying to busy myself with many things outside work to keep from lounging around which reduces available time. I’m getting to the point where I’m tempted to block out 2 hours on a given day to write, it matters not what I write, just that I write.

    Like

    1. Sounds like a good plan mate!!! Get that pen moving (or, well, those fingers tapping I guess!) I must admit that although work does play into my lack of writing time, I have also flung myself headlong back into swimming, running and gigging… All of which I love, but they do take their toll on your available time!

      Like

  2. Hello Chris and thank-you so much for writing this. It is something I feel so strongly about that if we don’t learn how to slow down as a nation, let alone a world then we will implode. Since taking semi retirement it has been so very noticeable that there is a pressing need for us to re-write the game plan , so to speak and although I recognised the need before I took this time out, I hadn’t realised how much difference it would make to my life and to others. Love to you and keep writing. Ann.

    Like

    1. Hi Ann, thanks for reading, and as for your response – wow! When are you going to start your blog?!! Sounds like ‘Rewriting the game plan’ would be a great read to me! And I totally agree – society is putting seeming ever increasing pressures on itself. Who is responsible? Where will it end?

      Like

Leave a comment